Wazzup Wednesdaaaaay!

imgres

SUPAH fun meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk. Drop by their place to see the full list of people participating and/or to jump in yourself 😉

 

 What I’m Reading  – For fun I jumped into Cassie Mae’s How to Seduce a Band Geek, which I’ll probably finish today 😀 And then last night I couldn’t sleep and opened like five different books on my kindle because I didn’t want to turn on my light to read Band Geek (hubs was sleeping) and started The Archived. HOLY AMAZINGNESS. Will probably read everything Victoria Schwab writes. Ever.

What I’m Writing – EDITS!!! I want to pull my hair out. I’m not sure if writing is harder for me or if I’m just a better writer so I’m pickier. I’d like to hope the second. BUT – I’m just about ready to send my MS to my editor (of total awesomeness) at Albert Whitman Teen – THE BOOK THEY BOUGHT LAST WEEK ON A PARTIAL!! Woot!! In Pieces should come out in hardback fall 2015 😀 I’m in SHOCK that my third hardback is on the books. Just…wow…

What Else I’m Up To – Enjoying summer. Enjoying my kiddos being home (for the most part). Working out hard, playing hard, not sleeping as much as I’d like b/c the sun is still up at like 11, and it’s light all night now.

Mike and me overdose on one TV show at a time. We finished Fringe a couple months ago, and Luther last month. FLEW through the first season of Elementary while mourning the distance between Sherlock seasons. And then Mike jumped into Eureka, which is slowly growing on me. A little cutesy for my taste, but good, and I don’t care about it so much that I can’t write while hubs watches. Psych is next, except for the fact that I might need to start watching Elementary again. Also. I want Lucy Liu’s wardrobe for that show.

What’s Inspiring Me Now – I have a few ideas I’m DYING to write and not just because I want out of edit hell 😉 Actually worked longhand and mapped out the next book. I have like two chapters written just to see if I could get the voice right. Longhand is ONLY for book plotting/mapping 😉 BUT it definitely helped me get excited about writing the story.

The other thing that’s inspiring me are my FRIENDS. Seriously. I have the best writer friends. In just the last week – Steph Campbell, Nyrae Dawn, Cassie Mae, Christa Desir, Jenny Proctor, Melanie Jacobson, Morgan Shamy, Kaylee Baldwin and Allie Brennan have all done something awesome – maybe without even realizing it.

And the THIRD thing that inspires me is that Amazon keeps sending me emails about these books 🙂 I LOVE seeing my Kate and Aidan in such good company –

Screen shot 2014-06-01 at 12.10.08 AM

 

What have you all been up to?

 

~ Jo

 

 

17 thoughts on “Wazzup Wednesdaaaaay!

  1. Congrats on selling your new book!!! That’s super exciting.

    I loved the Archived and its sequel. Victoria Schwab is incredibly talented.

    1. Yeah, I’m so in love w/ her writing and I’m on chapter FOUR, lol.

      And thanks!!! I’m thrilled I sold this book. I’m thrilled to sell ANY book 😉 It’s rough out there…

      On Wed, Jun 4, 2014 at 10:29 AM, YA author Jolene Perry wrote:

      >

  2. Congrats on selling IN PIECES! Can’t wait to hear more about it. 🙂 You’ve reminded me that I need to get watching Elementary again. I had started watching it and then got sidetracked. I think that might be on the agenda for tonight. I also haven’t read THE ARCHIVED yet, but I probably should, right? I’ve heard great things about it. My TBR pile is ridiculous, but this is not exactly a bad problem to have. 😉 Have a wonderful week, Jolene!

    1. My TBR pile is INSANE. The worst part about it, really, is that I’ve bought most of the books I’m dying to read, I just haven’t READ THEM YET. I have problems, clearly 😉

      Enjoy Elementary – I’m DEFINITELY ready to jump into season 2.

      On Wed, Jun 4, 2014 at 11:54 AM, YA author Jolene Perry wrote:

      >

  3. Ooh, THE ARCHIVED looks sooo good, I’ve been meaning to read it for ages. I can’t wait now!

    Also, ohmygosh, CONGRATS on selling your book! I can’t wait to hear more about it and squealy-fangirl like an idiot. And more congrats on the Amazon love – you’ve had a wonderful week by the looks of it, Jolene, and I hope the next one is just as great! 🙂

    1. It HAS been a wonderful week 😀

      THANKS!!!

      I’m already excited about back to The Archived tonight. In love w/ her writing 😉

      On Wed, Jun 4, 2014 at 5:50 PM, YA author Jolene Perry wrote:

      >

  4. Congrats on In Pieces—that’s awesome news!

    I like Fringe and Luther, but I very seldom make it through an episode of Elementary. I think Benedict Cumberbatch ruined me for all other Sherlocks.

    1. My aunt prepared me before I started Elementary. She said – THIS IS NOT AWESOME LIKE THE BBC, and then continued to say – Just pretend it has NOTHING to do w/ Sherlock Holmes. Without that advice, I don’t think I’d have made it through the first episode.

      And they’re not nearly as intricate and awesome as Sherlock, but Sherlock episodes are like MOVIES, lol.

      And thanks so much for the congrats on In Pieces!! I’m still so surprised when someone wants to actually put the work in to publish one of my books 😉

      Jo

      On Wed, Jun 4, 2014 at 9:02 PM, YA author Jolene Perry wrote:

      >

  5. I can’t write by hand any more. It seems like I start cramping up after a few minutes. 🙂

    I want to write. I haven’t written in a long time, but if I start writing then I won’t revise other stuff which means nothing will ever get done. *sigh*. I love the summer, you know us having 6 months of winter too and all, but I can’t get anything done it seems. Cause the kids being around.

  6. Ahh, I totally know what you’re going through with editing! I was working on a major revision for my manuscript too, but I had to take a break. This is the second rewrite in a row, and I just had to get away for a little while. I’ve had a story calling my name for a little while, and I’m excited to finally start working on it 🙂 I totally mapped everything out by hand too, for some reason the ideas flow better like that, and I get more excited. Keep enjoying summer, and have a great week!

    1. I AM having a great week, thanks!!!

      I can’t edit just one thing. I’ve been editing two different projects, so once I get to the point where I can’t see one of them anymore, I jump to the other…

      I’m DEFINITELY ready to be writing something new 😀

      On Thu, Jun 5, 2014 at 10:22 PM, YA author Jolene Perry wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

