What’s UP WEDNESDAY!!!

So, I haven’t done this in a few weeks – but it’s a great meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk. Drop by their place to see the full list of people participating and/or to jump in yourself 😉

KITE2

SO!

First off –

WHAT I’M READING!

I just beta’d a great book by Steve Bohls, and another by Morgan Shamy.

I’m in the middle of beta’ing for Allie Brennan who shares my Spec Fic agent, Rachel Stout (love her). Only Allie’s book is in the same wheelhouse as what I’m working on (not spec fic like the other two), only GORGEOUS, so it might ruin my writing mojo ;-O

I’m also reading RUINS by Dan Wells, which is the final in that trilogy. I’m in no hurry to finish because it means that world will be over…

My TBR list for the summer is frightening, but at the same time, I can’t wait to REALLY jump in.

 

WHAT I’M WRITING

So. I sent a proposal (synopsis and 60 pages) to my editor at AW Teen, and so now I’m trying to clean up the full MS. I’m in that phase of LOVE IT! HATE THIS! LOVE THIS! HATE THIS! Which is a really weird place to be in, knowing I’ll probably be turning this over to my editor shortly, lol. Not sure that selling on proposal is for me… Fortunately, even in the I HATE THIS moments, I remember why I wanted to tell this story and I also try and cling to the idea that a few hours ago, or a day ago, I loved this story.

I also accidentally started writing a story that I have NO idea what I might want to do with, and there’s something very freeing about that. I got down about 6K two nights ago, and I know the second I skim over what I’ve written, my fingers will fly, so I’m waiting until I have actual TIME.

 

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

Adoptions can be such roller-coasters, and that’s all I’m allowed to say about that.

My kids are officially out of school today! No more packing lunches unless it’s for a picnic!!

My server for my author site is broken, so now I’m switching to GoDaddy hosting, and while GoDaddy is ever helpful, I haven’t carved out time to get it DONE, and I really, really, really, need to get it done. I have no author site at the moment…

FINALLY gave my Instagram account some much needed attention, and I promise to hang out there more 😉

My husband’s job as a prosecutor has been more stressful than normal, making me wonder often WHY DO I LIVE IN THIS PLACE WITH SUCH HORRIBLE PEOPLE. Though, no matter where we lived, with him in that line of work, those thoughts would cross my mind.

I’ve also been “building” paths through the acre of woods we own. Kiddos have put benches out there on the pathways and it’s been all kinds of fun. This is my new “running” place, which is good because now that kiddos are home from school, my range is greatly shortened.

IMG_2493

I LOVE SUMMER.

 

Oh! Almost forgot. Giving stuff away HERE.

 

WHAT’S INSPIRING ME?

Again. Working on craft.

Also – remembering to LOVE my characters. When I really know my characters, I have to tell their story.

And that’s. What’s. Up.

 

What are you all up to?

~ Jolene

 

 

 

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “What’s UP WEDNESDAY!!!

  1. Okay, first of all, I adore your background and layout 🙂 Second, yay beta reads! My favorite. Also congrats on synopsis and pages! But I totally understand that hate/love…I am going through some major changes to my MS, and it’s becoming something completely different than it was in the first place, but I think it’s for the better 🙂 Have a great week!

    1. THANK YOU!!!!!! I’m in love with this layout. It cost me like 60 bucks or something, but I LOVES it. Yep. What’s funny is that I’m doing all this work and I’m like – IT’S STILL THE SAME FREAKING STORY, lol. Which is fine. Good. Right? I’m telling the CRAP OUT OF THIS STORY, lol

  2. I waffle back and forth between “I hate this” and “I love this” so frequently it’s a wonder I don’t have whiplash. I hope you’re in an “I love this” phase right now and that it hangs around! Very cool about the new story idea, too. Sometimes it’s just nice to see where these things take us, you know?

    I know what you mean about working a job that makes you wonder why you live around such awful people. I worked for the police for about 6 months and that was enough to make me want to move far, far away from that city…so we did lol. That said, I *did* find the job rewarding on a number of levels. I hope things become less stressful for your husband (and by extension, you as well) very soon! Have a wonderful week, Jolene! 🙂

  3. I’m new to your blog, and I *LOVE* your layout! Right away I was like, “Yep, this is someone I could definitely get along with” 😉 I’m currently in the honeymoon phase with my WIP, but I know for a fact that when it comes to revisions, I’ll be wanting to burn it at the stake and spit on the ashes. You know, normal writer stuff…

    I’m sorry to hear you’re having a tough time with your husband’s work, there really are some awful people in the world, and it always makes me wonder how *they* get jobs in the first place. I worked at one of those old-timey towns when I was 18, dressed up in Victorian gear in this Australian museum thing, and it was a HORRIBLE place to work. People thought that just because I was in costume, they could grope me and harass me and all sorts of stuff. Yulch.

    I hope you have a wonderful week, Jolene!

  4. Awwww, I don’t want to ruin any mojos… 😦 and I’m super curious about this new spontaneous project! I’m so happy you’re working on a fresh idea!!! Sometimes editing is just so weighing on one’s creative spirit!

    1. You won’t ruin my mojo, lol. I’m mostly teasing. Your book is fab. I’ll probably finish tonight unless I can convince my body to go to sleep at a reasonable hour :-/ I’m in LOVE w/ my spontaneous project, and you have NO IDEA HOW PERFECT YOUR RANDOM COVER IS FOR IT.

  5. We don’t have many trees in our area of North Dakota. It’s bad for two reasons. We have not hills and so therefore nothing blocks the wind. And well trees are just nice. 🙂

    Close to the house I grew up in was a shelter belt–the closest thing to a forest in our area. 🙂 Although not that big, we had so much fun playing in the trees. Making paths and creating our little cities. I miss that and unfortunately can’t go back there when I go home. Years ago two homeowners carved their little spots out for their homes, so although technically we were trespassing before when we were on the property, :), it was just a grove of trees far from any houses. Now it’s someone’s yard.

    1. I’m just sad when people don’t have trees, lol.

      Though, I grew up without a lawn. JUST trees, so there’s also that.

      We used to make these HUGE elaborate forts with the small deadfall, and it was ongoing. We also lived on a lake, and had this WELL WORN trail along the trees at the front of the lake, which took me to my friend Amy’s. So many fun memories…

      On Thu, May 22, 2014 at 3:46 AM, YA author Jolene Perry wrote:

      >

  6. AHHH I just finished Fragments, the second book, and I’m going to get Ruins soon! Wow. I know what you mean about that world. It’s one of my favorite worlds in that genre. Bleak, but amazingly written and well-thought-out. I hope you like Ruins. 🙂 I introduced my roommate to them, and she actually finished the trilogy before me (somehow, in between writing 2 theses…) She reacts to books by yelling, gasping, squeaking, etc. so it will be fun to see what made her go nuts during the last book.

    Have a good week!

      1. Luckily, she didn’t give me any spoilers. But to say that my expectations for Ruins are high would be an understatement…

Leave a Reply

