What’s Inspiring Me…

Screen shot 2014-05-04 at 8.28.27 PM

 

I’m inspired by different things at different times.

My character, Clara, writes poetry, which has driven this book forward much faster than it would have gone otherwise.

 

Screen shot 2014-05-04 at 2.49.43 PM

IN PIECES is the title of this one, and it’s currently with my editor at Albert Whitman Teen while I try not to cross my fingers and toes too hard that not only will they like it, but that they’ll take the book on a partial… (I’m pretty sure this is something I should keep off the internet, but there it is)

The process of making this book “good enough” has been a tricky one.

So, more than any book I’ve ever written, I’ve spent a lot of time just thinking and envisioning and finding places and ways to be inspired.  I made it a spring book because it is now spring and just sitting outside puts me next to Clara (my MC). I actually added several new scenes to this book just because of THESE pictures I took a couple of summers ago.

Screen shot 2014-05-04 at 8.17.47 PM

And then I started another book based on one of my husband’s cases (again) and when I found these pics, I suddenly knew where the crime was going to take place.

Screen shot 2014-05-04 at 8.19.05 PM

So. There you are.

Need inspiration to get that story done?

Here are a few things I do:

Write a blurb. (sometimes this helps me focus and tighten the story to one central theme)

Find pictures. (because how cool is a scene on run-down fairground rides?)

Write poems. (Um…only works w/ some characters sometimes)

Make graphics or mock covers. (Because the PRETTIES!)

Live and breathe your characters. (because if you want to write them, you need to KNOW them)

Find music. (because when you’re not writing, the right music helps keep you in the story)

Do something or try something your character loves doing (I keep wanting to write a girl who is really into rock climbing, b/c I LOVE it, and it would make my trips to the rock gym tax deductible…).

So.

 

What’s inspiring you lately??

(and feel free to write your own post because I’d love to read it!)

 

~ Jo

3 thoughts on “What’s Inspiring Me…

  1. Music is probably my biggest source of inspiration. Pandora Internet Radio has been fantastic for helping me find new artists/songs that really fit what I’m trying to write.

    Pictures are a close second, though. As such, I spend more time on Pinterest than is probably healthy.

    Happy writing!

    1. Pinterest is totally good for mental health. At least I tell myself that EVERY SINGLE NIGHT as I scroll through Pinterest…lol

      On Sun, May 4, 2014 at 9:03 PM, YA author Jolene Perry wrote:

      >

  2. IN PIECES rocks! Love it. I enjoy writing clips of poetry, like that. For me, it’s a way to stretch my thoughts/emotions farther than in regular sentences. And I agree that it can move a story forward much faster.

Leave a Reply

