What’s UP, Wednesday?

I love that by changing the punctuation, I’m asking Wednesday a question.

unnamed

ANYWAY.

“What’s Up Wednesday” is a fun weekly meme started by  Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk.  If you wanna participate, make sure to link your What’s Up Wednesday posts to the list on Jaime’s blog each week. 

 

WHAT I’VE BEEN READING:

I’ve been beta reading!! I read a supah fun MG ghost story for Shelly Brown.

I’m in the middle of an AWESOME fantasy by Melodie Wright.

And just finished what’s going to be an INCREDIBLE read by Nyrae Dawn.

Up next? I think I’m going to re-read the Daughter of Smoke and Bone and then finish off that series. OR start reading some of the books written by all the lovely writerly people I’m going to see next week at the STORYMAKER’S CONFERENCE where I’ll be teaching a class w/ the awesome Cassie Mae – Writing Collaborations: How not to kill your partner, and other useful tips.

 

WHAT I’VE BEEN WRITING:

I’m doing my LAST (and therefore very slow) read of DEAL before turning it over to my agent of awesomeness, Jane Dystel.

I polished and shined my first 50 pages of an MS to hand off to my editor (which means the above book might go out later than I’d like…)

I started writing a book similar in feel to DEAL all because my cousin who I visited in Seattle said something about how she expected that with my husband’s job, I’d write more suspense. I figured she was probably right 😉

 

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO:

My daughter of awesomeness let me sew her this dress that we designed together (it has a V in the back, which she is thrilled about). She wore it with combat boots. Almost 11 years old, chose her pixie cut, knows how to girl it up, and can rock a pair of boots. I’ve done well 😉

1619620_638760872868513_5804365971737384722_n

 

photo (9)

Getting ready for Utah and the Storymakers conference, which really means stressing over the million things I need to do to take care of my family and my kiddos, and figure out what I’m going to WEAR, lol. Every time I pack for a trip, I’m reminded of how much black and grey I have…

My granddad, who is maybe one of the coolest people on the planet is back in the hospital 😦 So, I’ll be spending a lot of time there over the next few days.

 

WHAT IS INSPIRING ME RIGHT NOW?

I’ve been SOAKING up articles and books on craft. I don’t care where you are in the game, the competition for spots on bookshelves is FIERCE. The articles and books motivate me to always be working on strengthening my story-telling through tighter plots or stronger language. I might do up a post on some of my favorite resources next week.

 

OH!! And another random tidbit.

I met with Steganie Tatalias, who is the regional rep for SCBWI up here because I said I wanted to help in some way.

AAaaand now I get to speak at our regional SCBWI Conference as well as possibly moderate a panel w/ some agents and editors that I’m looking forward to meeting. And we’ve started planning an afternoon workshop that I’d like to do. So. Wins all the way around 😉

What’s up with everyone else??

 

~ Jo

 

7 thoughts on “What’s UP, Wednesday?

  1. Sorry to hear about your grandfather. Hope he’ll be on the mend soon 🙂

    Wow, so much beta reading and editing. You sound super busy and it all sounds very exciting 😀 Good luck with it all.

  2. I had to laugh at all the black and grey clothing, because I’m so in the same boat. Especially when it comes to dress clothes. I should probably branch out a little more. That’s pretty great that you get to teach a class at the Storymakers Conference. I bet that will be a fun one. 🙂

    Hope your granddad is out of the hospital and in better health soon! Have a great week, Jolene!

  3. Love beta reading! Am doing a bunch with my writing group right now, and it’s so exciting! Your daughter is adorable, and I am totally the same way with neutrals. Which is funny, since I love bright colors in every other aspect, just not my wardrobe 🙂

    So sorry to hear about your granddad! Hope he is better soon. Have a great week!

  4. How adorable is your daughter?! I love her sense of style. And I hope, hope, HOPE your agent loves the changes you made to DEAL. Best of luck with your newest project, Jo!

  5. Love the pics, so atmospheric! And that dress is a-maz-ing. Your daughter modeled it well. =)

  6. “How not to kill your partner, and other useful tips.” <– Love that.

    And I love the pictures of your daughter of awesomeness. They're gorgeous.

    Hope your granddad is feeling better soon.

Leave a Reply

