It’s Not Polite to Say You Have a Favorite Child, but…

This is my favorite child 😉

Screen shot 2014-03-06 at 3.44.40 PM

 

Okay. Not CHILD. Book 😉

Joy is a girl who is three months out of an incredibly abusive home, is living with her aunt and uncle and twin cousins, and is still learning to function in a “normal” life.

I woke up one morning with the first line of this book running through my head having no idea on character, setting, or what had happened to her –

“I read somewhere that happiness is fleeting, but joy sticks with you, holds on to you, and fills you up. The fact that my name is Joy is sort of a lesson in irony.”

– I had a first draft less than a week later.

Yes. I was a worthless mother and wife during that week, but Joy would not let me go.

I did less plotting in this book than I ever have (and I’m not a big plotter, so this is really saying something).

Everything that happened in this book took me by surprise. I really felt like I was just tagging along, watching Joy try to fit into a life she doesn’t believe she deserves. Her Uncle Rob’s backstory wasn’t expected. Her cousin Tara’s niceness wasn’t planned. Trent’s ego showed up when I knew Joy needed another setback. Justin appeared when all she wanted was a quiet moment, and he ruined those at first, and became part of them later. The wild Daisy wasn’t planned. I had NO idea Joy had it in her to jump off that dock or to try kung fu – both of which saved her in so many ways.

I could talk about this book for ages, but I’ll save that for closer to the release date – September 1, 2014.

I’ve just done the scariest part (for me) – TURN IN FINAL PAGES – and now I’d like to sit back and bask in the glow of my shiny new cover 😉

Oh! If you want to add Joy to your goodreads pile, you can do that HERE.

So. What is happening in everyone else’s writing life right now?

~ Jo

 

12 thoughts on “It’s Not Polite to Say You Have a Favorite Child, but…

  1. Awesome cover and first line! Love all those squiggles of color. Congrats, Jolene! As for my writing life, I do have out a partial w/an agent. I’m not overly optimistic it’ll turn into anything, but I’m in the game, and that feels so good. =)

    1. I’m stoked about this book. The cover is NOTHING like I imagined, but I LURVE it. AND GO YOU!!!!!!!!!! I remember getting the first few requests for more material, and it felt AH-mazing. EVEN if it doesn’t pan out, at least you know you’re on the right track, which is awesome 😀

  2. Jo, you know how much I love Joy. I mean…I was crying in Starbucks while reading a draft of her. I cannot wait to hold that beautiful cover in my hands and have her for very my own…er…in book form anyway. I’m so excited for the world to meet her, and feel so so so lucky to have met her early. XOXO
    and THAT COVER <33

    1. THANKS!!!!! A few thousand words have been added and a LOT has been smoothed over. I’m SO stoked for this book 😀

      On Sun, Apr 6, 2014 at 7:29 PM, YA author Jolene Perry wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

