What’s Up Wednesday :-D

unnamed

“What’s Up Wednesday” is a fun weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk. If you’re participating, make sure to link your What’s Up Wednesday posts to the list on Jaime’s blog each week.  Because it’s FUN.

WHAT I’M READING – 

SKY JUMPERS by my awesome friend, Peggy Eddleman. I’ve known her since before she landed her agent and am so excited to finally be reading her MG. I’m also stoked because I get to meet her in person in April!

16718344

 

Her original title was The Bomb’s Breath, and now I get why. AWESOME STORY.

 

 

WHAT I’M WRITING: (this might take a bit)

First off, I’m working on copyedits for STRONGER THAN YOU KNOW, which comes out in September. I’m dying to share my cover, but am not yet allowed :-/

Remember that draft I finished up a while ago? Yeah. it needed a LOT of work. Like…a tense change. That process is horrible, BTW. Not at all recommended. DEAL is now in the capable hands of Katy Upperman for another read through. WHEW!

I self-pub NA romance (not the SUPAH sexy stuff, the lighter, sexy stuff) under the pen name Mia Josephs, and I’m halfway done w/ this series of novellas, which I’m pretty stoked about 😀 The middle book is actually a total re-write of the first book I ever wrote about an out of rehab rockstar w/ a severe case of writer’s block. It’s been SO fun to see that story be told in a way that’s…well…readable 😉

Screen shot 2014-03-18 at 11.15.09 PM

 

Yes. I’m picture happy today.

I also just re-did my cover of AFTER ALL b/c as much as I LOVE covers w/ just one person, couples sell better. Sigh. Since my Mia books are all for fun (but I make more money there) I changed it up and put it on sale.

After All new cvr

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO:

1. My oven broke, and the whole inside is melted in this sort of frighteningly weird way. Also, I bake something for kiddos’ lunches 3-4 mornings a week, and I’m now at a loss of what to feed them… (son w/ allergies)

Our days are getting longer so fast (I’m in Alaska) that it’s unreal, and I’m about to pull out the blackout curtains.

Going to lunch with a friend tomorrow and NO CHILDREN. This is monumental.

At the end of last summer I was running 5 miles on trails in about 50-55 minutes. Today I ran 3 miles (not on a trail) and thought I might die…

Trying not to think too much about THE SUMMER I FOUND YOU being out in the wild.

WHAT INSPIRES ME?

Awesome friends. Nyrae Dawn, Allie Brennan, Christa Desir and Cassie Mae have all talked me off of ledges over the past 2 weeks, and I adore them for it.

My agent of awesomeness, Jane Dystel.

Also.

PICTURES.

Obviously 😉

So. This has been fun! Due to my very few hours of the day w/ no children and copyedits due FRI, I’ll be stalking you all Wed evening…

~ Jolene

10 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday :-D

  1. Meals without kids… I adore my daughter, but yeah. Having an adult only lunch is a pretty fantastic treat. Enjoy yours! And I’m so excited to dive into your story. So glad you asked me to read — can’t wait. Have a wonderful week, Jo!

  2. I didn’t realize you were in Alaska. Cool! Here in Alberta we’re certainly noticing (and loving) the longer days, but I imagine those days would be that much longer where you are. Still, it’s nice to see some sun after so much darkness. O_o
    Sounds like you’re having a productive week! I can only dream of being able to run 3 miles. Baby steps, right? That stinks about your stove. My nephew has a food allergy, so I understand how tough that must be. Enjoy your lunch out sans kids, and have a wonderful week! 🙂

  3. Just wait until we’re both on that ledge at the same time!
    When we both say “Screw it, I’m moving to Alaska…” :\ wait?

    I really hope you get that stove fixed up or turned into a planter… that’s actually quite scary! Enjoy your lunch without kiddos!

  4. First of all, that sucks about your oven. My son has a peanut allergy, so I know how tough it is to deal with that sort of thing. What a pain. Hope that works out soon!

    Speaking of working out, I’m envious that you can even run 3 miles. I’ve been forcing myself onto the treadmill lately just to walk, so hey, you’re doing awesome!

    Changing the tense of your entire manuscript is quite the undertaking! Best of luck with all your edits! 🙂

  5. Alaska that’s pretty cool 🙂 I love your covers and i never knew that couples sold better than singles on a cover. Very interesting.

    Ahh about your Oven. I hope you manage to get it fixed soon. Maybe you could borrow a friends oven for the day and do your baking for your son.

  6. I look forward to seeing your cover! Your self-pubbed covers look really nice 🙂 I didn’t know that couples sold better than singles either.

  7. I’d love to visit Alaska. Maybe one day… All the best with your writing this week, Jolene. I hope you get your oven fixed soon! 🙂

  8. I’m in the same boat with you on the running. I’m waaay behind where I was last year, due to crud weather and my own laziness over the winter. Time to lace up and get some miles on again!

  9. I can’t even run for one whole minute, so I think three miles deserves a round of applause! I definitely don’t envy you having to do that tense change–eek, that sounds horrible. But worth it in the end, I hope 🙂

    Have a great week and enjoy the sunshine 🙂

Leave a Reply

