A Million Right Ways to do so Many Things…

I had this interesting conversation with a few friends about how phones and internet and TV is sort of taking over our lives, and it got me to thinking about something I actually think about a lot. Only…more πŸ˜‰

My friend said that when her and her husband watch a show, they turn everything else off. They don’t answer the phone. They don’t check email. They basically pretend they’re at the movie theater. “That,” she said, “is how we spend quality time together.”

I do the opposite. If we’re already sitting in front of the TV, why wouldn’t I open my laptop? Play on Pinterest? Check email? Write my blog post? (Like now while the Walking Dead is on…)Β It’s not like we’re going to have some meaningful conversation while watching Brooklyn 99 or Sherlock or Fringe or the Walking Dead.

That works for me and my husband. I’d rather be without distraction when the TV is off. Using TV time as social media time is sorta perfect. We’re so bad that we’ll both sit watching something, each with our iPads, and we’ll pause the show once in a while to share something we found on Pinterest. I think it makes us more together than just sitting and staring at the TV. (also. I get bored easily).

Then when the TV is off, we set down the iPads, iPhones, computers, and are just together.

But that’s what works for us. My friend has something very opposite that works for her.

Yes. This post will be about writing. Eventually πŸ˜‰

I see people try and conform their writing ways with the way other people write. People they think are better writers than them. People who are “further” along than they are.

It might work. And I’m up for trying all sorts of things, even when what I’m doing is working.

But.

Just because plotting works for one person, doesn’t mean it’ll work for another. Just because music totally helps me get through writing one book, doesn’t mean it’ll get me through writing the next.

Our methods change from person to person and for me, also from book to book.

I think the biggest thing that I’ve learned is that there are a lot of ways to go about getting a story on paper. Editing that story. And getting it published. There is no right way. There is no wrong way. There is only the way that works for us.

So now. I want you to say ONE thing (or more b/c you can totally cheat and break rules) that helps you write or get a story down. ANY ONE THING πŸ˜‰

For me right now? It’s falling in love w/ my characters. Finding a way for me to know them – from what they wear on lazy days to what they like for breakfast…

When I love w/ my characters, I HAVE to tell their story.

~ Jo

5 thoughts on “A Million Right Ways to do so Many Things…

  1. Lately, I have to write with someone. Not a collaboration… I mean I have to write at the same time as someone else. Half hour to an hour sprints and then we share a piece from what we wrote so we’re accountable. I don’t know why, but I’ve needed the motivation, and yeah… it’s been the only way I can get it lately.

  2. I think it’s for me when I have the time to just write write write. When I get in a grove it flows so much better. Unfortunately that doesn’t happen much. Especially since I don’t like to stay up real late if I have to get up early in the morning.

Leave a Reply

